My Life

Genetic Compassion

It is lack of love for ourselves that inhibits our compassion toward others. If we make friends with ourselves, then there is no obstacle to opening our hearts and minds to others.

>>>  Peace Meditation <<<
Safe link, requires The Peace Meditation requires a 4.0 browser and free Flash 4 Player

I would seem that my post on drinking struck the chords of a few family members, thus inciting a huge discussion there after. I am grateful that the discussion happened, it allowed a lot of family who have been absent in one another’s life to come forward and add their thoughts. That is super big for our family.

Within that discussion birthed ideas about our genetics and compassion. It seems that a family member feels that compassion is apart of the gene pool in our family. This lead me to write about my views on compassion in the post on my facebook. I thought I would expand on it for my gratitude project today.

Compassion, what is it? According to dictionary.com compassion is “a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken by misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering.” Although it is easy to copy and paste an actual meaning of compassion, I would like to define it for me instead.

Compassion for me is a deep burning ache I have when I see an injustice being done to another being. What I first interpreted as anxiety and anger, was that nagging voice in the back of my head telling me that “this is wrong.”  I used to fight, literally fight physically , against those that were bullies, or those who caused drama. I was wild and angery. It has taken me years to learn how to refocus that anger, refocus that burning ache inside me and aim it towards a better cause.

That same voice is the one that prompts me to do things like volunteer. I spent a great deal of years doing volunteer work. Anything from litter patrol to feeding the homeless. I am not writing this out for a pat on the back, simple using an example to show my acts of compassion. When I see a person needing help, I offer help. When I can afford to, I always contribute: ASPCA, March of Dimes, Children’s Hospital, etc. I always have. I don’t need external praise, for the peace that comes from with in changes that deep burning ache into a glow, a literal warm glow radiating from my heart out. It is within these moments of compassion do I fully feel peace with myself.

Compassion is not just for a person, it is for all living things. When we can truly appreciate ourselves, this is when we can fully become compassionate for another being. There is something out there in regards to vibrational pull. I really believe that when you have adopted the attitude that you are ok with yourself, you find yourself in a higher vibration. I eagerly work to achieve this vibration, even if it’s one small step of gratitude, compassion or love at a time. The biggest thing our species needs to remember is that every ounce of love for another, is an act of love for our self.

Why is it so hard for us to just love our self, regardless. Why do we feel the need to turn to food, alcohol, drugs, sex, whatever the addiction at the moment is? How can we calm the hum that is constant in our head? Do an unconditional random act of kindness for another, that’s the best way. These acts, like coins gathering in a wishing fountain, only pile onto one another until you fully notice it’s positivity that grows from them.

I really honed in on the compassionate experience attending the Seeds of Compassion when it was here in Seattle. We need to come forward and act, just simply praying and hoping for a change isn’t going to happen alone. We need to see and respond to areas that are needed. It is time to teach children compassion, instead of self indulgence.

https://i2.wp.com/i370.photobucket.com/albums/oo146/Sedna_rlc/Mandala/Heart_chakra.jpg

One thought on “Genetic Compassion

Leave a Reply

