Gratitude · Happiness · My Life · Spirit

Blowin’ in the wind..

https://i0.wp.com/i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm204/Atabey65/Butterfly.jpgHappiness is a butterfly which, when pursued, is always beyond our grasp, but, if you sit down quietly, may alight upon you.    -Nathaniel Hawthorne

Happiness… it seems to be such an allusive idea. People always say to me, “Only you can make you happy.”.. and in turn I have found that I say this to others quite often. We are so blinded lately, we as humans are so misdirected. Happiness cannot be found in material things. We cannot seek out, and actively find it like it’s an extinct animal. Happiness is within us, it is within those we decide to hold close.

I forget this often. I get sidetracked by the negative, I get caught up in the wrong doings around me, that I forget to step back and be thankful for small things. Through gratitude, really, is the path to happiness. Gratitude and Compassion, that’s where it’s at. I was once a very active member in volunteering, and believe I need to get back into that. I need to give to others, to find gratitude and compassion, thus, feeling the warmth of happiness there after.

Leave a Reply

