Beauty, Gratitude, Happiness, My Life, Negative People, Random Acts of Kindness, Self Esteem, Spirit

Is giving really more of a hedonistic opportunity?

Hedonist
noun
1. a person whose life is devoted to the pursuit of pleasure and self-gratification.

“I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.”~ Aldous Huxley ~

I am at the point in my life where I cannot handle negativity anymore. I have spent my time so angry and negative towards people, starting in my teenage years. It is not healthy, not at all. It’s not healthy for you, nor for those around you who are privy and suffer from the lashing out. Over the last few weeks I have noticed that our roommate is a bit of a negative Nelly. He tends to hate everything, unless it directly benefits him. I do not want this blog entry to be about bashing him, that is not my intent. I just have some thoughts to process and put out there. Which leads me to discuss today’s events.

Our roommate and I carpool to work in the morning. Normally, by the time I am in my car en route to my job, I am in a killer mood. I listen to music, drink my Italian soda, and enjoy my morning. I will be the first to admit it takes a bit to get there in the morning, as I am not a fan of the actual waking up process. My roommate on the other hand, he’s not a happy guy. He’s become very bitter, pissy and angry towards everything and everybody. We cannot seem to have a decent conversation in the morning without it turning into a very negative conversation. Well, today, I think I hit my patience level. We talked about how he’s become very narcissistic and rather hedonistic; which he agrees. Why do anything if it’s not going to benefit you? (that’s his belief). Me, on the other hand, feels that it’s satisfying to do something random for a stranger.

This evening it turned into a huge argument. I don’t do things for other people for the benefits. I do things for people because it makes me glow inside knowing I made someone else’s day, or at least brought a smile to their face momentarily. Apparently, it’s greedy to even get satisfaction from making someone else smile.

The point of all this is, I can’t change him… .he can’t change me. He’s really digressed since a relationship break up end of last year. He’s become more and more moody and negative. This effects everyone around him, including me. I’m finding it hard to just look past this faux pau and continue with a decent day. I love the kid, and I understand he has some issues (Autism), but frankly, we cannot continue to leave cohesively if change doesn’t happen. What can I pull out of this to be thankful for?

I am thankful for Random Acts of Kindness

Random Acts of Kindness really do matter. Be kind, do something small for someone else. Pay it forward. Maybe the person you’re paying it forward for, will be my roommate, and he’ll find out that people aren’t selfishly driven.


https://i1.wp.com/i115.photobucket.com/albums/n306/mslydiaicons/kindness.jpg

Leave a Reply

