Beauty, Forgiveness, Gratitude, Happiness, Health, Self Esteem, Spirit

Mend the Bridge

“We may go to the moon, but that’s not very far. The greatest distance we have to cover still lies within us.” Charles de Gaulle

Yesterday I had a trip, a quick little jaunt, but a trip none the less. This trip, took me backwards about six months. I have prided myself on the fact that since counseling I have been able to keep some of my emotions and tempers under control. But yesterday, :: shaking head ::, yesterday was a tough one at that. It all started with an email.

“I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT ALL SPECIALS BEFORE HAND, IF NO PAPERWORK COMES IN AND I DO NOT KNOW ABOUT IT WE DO NOT GET PAID. I HAVE ASKED SEVERAL TIMES FOR ALL THESE CALLS TO BE ROUTED THROUGH ME BUT THEY ARE NOT. I WILL NOT ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AGAIN, IF WE LOSE REVENUE BECAUSE OF THIS IT WILL NOT BE ON ME.”

Ok, I understand, revenue is how we get paid; thus allowing us to pay our bills too. I can emphasize with the concern. However, the method in which it was delivered enabled me to be put into a defensive stance. If there were questions about the method of phone dispatching, I would have been in a better stance to talk to me directly. However, she not only “caplock” reprimanded me, but, she CC’d all the employees on it. It was that simple fact that made my upset, put off. I was embarassed, but I handled it well at first.

My email response, reply all, simply stated, “I ask *** when she calls if it’s a special or other. I send the calls back to dispatch for late drivers, missing items, etc. Any time she says special, I send it to you.”

Her response after, “Customer service is not the job of dispatchers, it is ours. We are the liaison between dispatch/driver and the customer. We should be talking to the customer not dispatch and all Cardinal calls should come to me.”

This is where I turned bitchy right quick. “Ok, I’m getting mixed messages from you.. I’ve been instructed repeatedly that “late driver calls go to dispatch”, “Talk to dispatch about missing items, “etc. When I do call the drivers, you say “it’s not your job to call the drivers, that’s what dispatch does.” Researching for missing boxes, am I to go out into the warehouse and track down boxes as well? Or, is that apart of dispatch? The customer service aspect of it is getting back to the customer with verification of lost items, etas, etc. I do talk to the customers, substantially, since I’ve been put in the customer service role; hence the report I now fill out. I don’t see my passing **** to dispatch as lack of customer service, I am sorry you feel that way. I will rectify it in the future and ensure that ALL cardinal calls come to you first.”

What a snarky response, and immediately I felt horrible. It has been a long while since I shot a response off from my hip like that. I stewed on it all night. I felt just totally horrible for being snide. This morning when I came in to work, I gave her a “Thank You” card. I simply put, “I want to take a moment to thank you. Thank you for your guidance, support and understanding. I apologize for yesterday.”
Her response, “Thank you very much for the card it was very thoughtful. I’m always here, if you have questions don’t hesitate to ask”

It’s all about communication people. Even in the event of a breakdown, it’s easy to rebuild… as long as you take the moment to mend the bridge.

https://i1.wp.com/i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm13/rebelregan/Earth/OrangePoppy.jpg

Leave a Reply

