Forgiveness · Gratitude · Happiness · Health · My Life · Negative People · Self Esteem · Spirit

Karma, Hurt and Writing

https://i1.wp.com/www.commentsguru.com/images/poems/dont_hurt_anyone.jpg

This is my day:
“‎… Grateful for coworkers who are thoughtful today. My coworker brought me a tall eggnog pumpkin spice latte!!” – Me

“… I need McGyver. Someone actually stole my lunch from my desk drawer. .. I need someone to rig it for attack.” – Me one hour later.

My friend replied with, “…light cannot exist without darkness and all that…” which got me thinking.

There really cannot be good without bad, light without dark, and ying without yang; can there? Then I was reminded of the quote, “Like gravity, karma is so basic we often don’t even notice it.” ~Sakyong Mipham

Everything we do there’s an action and reaction. I was totally grateful that one coworker brought me a coffee, I was at a point in the day where it was really needed. I was upset at the fact someone stole my lunch, but then realized that… well.. maybe they needed it.

Later today I had my counseling appointment. That was a whirlwind of emotion. We reflected on my childhood a bit more, and discussed some deep rooted needs I have; that just aren’t being met by the family I was given in this life. We discussed more lessons in that. It left me a bit gloomy and weepy.

Finally my NaNoWriMo story is coming along. I know that they say not to edit as you go, just write and keep writing. However, I can’t. I’m too obsessive about straight lines whether drawn or written. I’ve decided to restructure the story a bit, flip some things around, and call it good. I am stuck, though. Man I hate being stuck. I had a friend read my other little coffee style book I have. He enjoyed it, said, ‘Great concept.” I think I’m going to work on that a bit more too.

3 thoughts on “Karma, Hurt and Writing

  1. Keep, keep, keep writing. Even if you choose to edit. If you choose to edit as you go, try asking yourself: is it hindering my writing process? (i.e. moving the story forward). I’m doling NaNoWriMo for the first time this year. I’m not on track with the wordcount, but had stopped to develop an outline, which is helping me focus. I think the big thing I’m taking from NaNoWriMo right now is discipline – and the thought of it. I haven’t been writing everyday, but thinking discipline has been helpful.
    What are you taking away from NaNoWriMo?

    1. Grace,

      I am not on track with the word count either, I’m just enjoying the experience. This is my first year as well. I think what I am taking away from NaNoWriMo is the push; meaning the push to keep me going. Knowing that there’s a deadline, and an expectation of word count, it keeps me motivated to “beat” my personal writing score. I tend to putter out with my novels, and this is the first time I am motivated to keep going.

      Thank you for stopping by my blog! If you want to add me on Nano my writing buddy name is RebelRegan

Leave a Reply

