Changes · Changing · Counseling · Friends · Friendship · Happiness · Healing · Health · Hope · Journey · My Life · Positivity · Self Esteem · Spirit

In the dust..

“Others may be surprised by your choices. They may even react strongly to them. Do not allow this to stop you. Send those individuals loving energy and continue on letting your Heart direct the way.”

I have been contemplating a lot over my healing and growth through counseling. I have fretted about the path I am now following, and those I’m leaving behind. I needed to read this quote today. I don’t want to hurt anyone, that’s always been the healing stopper for me. I’m afraid to hurt others. I know what it’s like to be hurt, damaged, saddened, etc; and rationally I know that I have done this to others, just not intentionally.

I am making new choices, ones that are healthy for me; a lot healthier than choices I’ve made in the past. But, I am also noticing that as I change, those closest to me in my life aren’t changing as well. Just that mere realization alone has me almost terrified to continue with my inner healing process. It feels almost like a road block, and I’m unsure how to work through it and continue this path.

I love my husband dearly, but lately it’s becoming more of a friendship love. I just don’t see him moving side by side with me. He’s even made mention that, “I am afraid you’re going to lose this weight, get your mind healthy, and change enough to leave me.”

I don’t want to feel guilty for positive changes in my life; and thus not change. I don’t want to be made to feel guilty either. I don’t know what to do. I feel stagnant and confused.

4 thoughts on “In the dust..

  1. Wow! First time I have visited your blog and I see this post. I am having some of these same issues myself! I recently started therapy, trying to make changes for the better in my life, and feel myself changing…. while I fear that everyone around me will foreever stay the same…. and it scares me. Like you, I am confused, especially about my relationships with those around me as I continue to grow. Now I sound like a rambling idiot…… sorry. Great post! Have a great day!

  2. My biggest fear is my husband not snapping out of it, and realizing that healthier eating, thinking, living and being is where it’s at.

    Thank you for the comment 🙂 I look forward to seeing you around these parts.

  3. I’ve re-written this reply about 3 times so far. Words just don’t seem to come together for what I want to really say.

    So, what I’ll say is this: You are the only person who is in charge of your emotional well-being. You cannot let someone else drive, because they don’t know where you want to go. If they want to come along for the ride, that’s up to you, and them. But you need to keep moving forward. Wanting to be healthy, both in mind and body is a wonderful goal. Don’t let anyone or anything take that from you. Don’t let the fear win. (HUG)

Leave a Reply

