Beauty · Buddha · Changes · Changing · Compassion · Counseling · Forgiveness · Friends · Friendship · Gratitude · Happiness · Healing · Health · Hope · Journey · Love · My Life · Self Esteem · Spirit

year in words

December 1 – One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell)

As part of my process to catch up on Reverb10, here is my Dec. 1st entry.

Scene: Sitting at the laptop with my cursor blinking like an alarm clock chiming every nine minutes of snooze. My fingers resting on the keyboard, while my teeth roll and chew my bottom lip in contemplation. Twenty ten wrapped up and defined in one words; words are mysterious and wonderful, choosing the right one is going to be complicated.

The first words to roll through my mind, like the clacking of train cars as they pass; steady and rhythmic,are words like “depression” and “fear.” I had to sit back and really think about the last year. I think the best word for me through 2010 would be changes.

Fast forward to 2011.

As I sit here and look back over the last two years and compare where I was in 2010 and where I am now in 2011, I think the word that has captured this year the best for me is growth.

3 thoughts on “year in words

  1. Growth is my goal for 2011. I hope you continue to find growth in your own journey this next year. Have a great day. 🙂

  2. Thank you Speaketh (I just can’t muster calling you an idiot again.. even though Kastanza is staring at me).

    Growth is scary. Growth is a word they use for an unwanted piece of flesh attached to your neck. Growth is a word they use for a tumor that has gone awry, gaining 20lbs in it’s duration. Growth isn’t something I associate with positivity. That’s my focus, to change that negativity on my misconceptions of “growth” and continue through it.

    Here’s to your growth, changes, acceptance in the next year.

  3. So many of us have had years like that. My word was clearing.
    The universe cleared out so much of my life – and now i’m going to fill it with better stuff.
    i don’t know what stuff, yet, exactly, but i’m going to find out.
    thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

