Beauty, Buddha, Changes, Changing, Compassion, Counseling, Forgiveness, Friends, Friendship, Gratitude, Happiness, Healing, Hope, Journey, Love, My Life, Negative People, Positivity, Self Esteem, Spirit

Chosen Family

December 16 – Friendship How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst? (Author: Martha Mihalick)

 

https://i2.wp.com/i558.photobucket.com/albums/ss29/Jamie_june21/quote.gif

“Two may talk together under the same roof for many years, yet never really meet; and two others at first speech are old friends.”

– Mary Catherwood

“A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.”

The change of friendship for me came as a huge slap in the back of the head by the Universe. My view of friendship changed so much in 2010, I’ve come to realize my ability to say “no” and “this is a toxic relationship.” I have been able to purge through those that are not healthy, and move forward. It took a total crumbling of my trust and patience with a few “friends” to realize I was worth more, and I offer so much more, than they were willing to meet. It wasn’t always like this, however.

I was the type of person to see a what a person can offer me through their friendship. I was a bitch, I will be the first to admit. It took that proverbial slap upside the back of my head to make me realize just how much of a bitch I was; it’s been almost one year to the date that this happened. It took me falling, and those I thought were friends of mine, to walk away during my personal crisis. I finally assessed my situation and how I treat others.

I realized that I needed to be more thankful for things in my life, rather than a person who takes without second thought. On January 25 I wrote my first blog entry here “Seeking Peace”: Seeking forgiveness. Seeking others who wish to see a change in 2010.

I’d like to think I have reached a point of forgiveness from others, as I have grown to forgive myself as well. I know that not everybody can be won over, and not everybody can be a friend. I also know that this is a huge step for me. As I continue to grow through 2011, I wish you peace, friendship, love, luck, and life.

Leave a Reply

