Beauty · Buddha · Forgiveness · Friendship · Gratitude · Happiness · Health · My Life · Self Esteem · Spirit

Note to self

December 21 – Future Self. Imagine yourself five years from now. What advice would you give your current self for the year ahead? (Bonus: Write a note to yourself 10 years ago. What would you tell your younger self?) (Author: Jenny Blake) and have patience, this too shall pass.

In bed every night with my husband, we have this ten to fifteen wind down discussion time. Most nights it’s a very deep discussion about life, our lives, and suggestions to issues ahead of us. Last night’s discussion revolved around my issue with defensiveness.

We were discussing the issue I am having at work, I blogged about it yesterday, and why stuff like this happens to me a lot in life. What are the lessons to be learned here? With no answers to really be heard, I rolled over, and so did he. He, with my amazement, started snoring as soon as his turn was completed. I, on the other hand, laid awake thinking about my very questions. I was brought back to myself ten years ago, twenty years ago, and even as far back as 25 years ago. My life was a consistent defensive, survivalist, mode.

It’s what I know. I know to defend my being tooth and nail. If I had to write a note to myself 10 years ago, I’d write something along the lines of:
“Dear Regan,

Oh, how angry you are! So bitter and cynical towards family, friends and men. You’re 24, you have a 4 year old son, and life seems pretty bleak right now. You’re waking up each day very, very angry and cynical. Stop! Stop what you’re doing. Learn to see the betterment in positive thinking, please, or your health is going to suffer from internalizing too much. Stop being defensive, it’s not healthy either.”                  Your Bigger You

If I could get advice from where I am at now, to the “me” in five years, all I would say is … Good job for working so hard on healing yourself and your past.

One thought on “Note to self

  1. Wow. Great post. I think writing a note to myself 10 years ago would be kind of hard. In fact, even if I had the guts to write it, I’d never have the guts to post it. Then, again, after reading yours, that makes me feel like a chicken… So, I guess mine would probably say, “Don’t get the extra major. Get the one B.A. Degree in 2.5 years, be proud of yourself and don’t view the extra 2 years as extra time for another B.A. Degree. Get yourself to law school before life has a chance to intercede and make moving an impossibility.”

Leave a Reply

