Friendship · Gratitude · Happiness · My Life · Self Esteem · Spirit

Joyful Noise

December 27 – Ordinary Joy Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year?

Ordinary Joy
“Sound when stretched is music.
Movement when stretched is dance.
Mind when stretched is meditation.
Life when stretched is celebration.”
-Ravi Shankar

The house is cleaned, it’s evening and we’re in the living room. The lights are dim in the house, I am on my laptop, my husband and roommate are watching some action flick on the television. Our son is at a friend’s house, trying to avoid being home as much as possible (typical teenager). My roommate sighs, and leans back on the couch. We have all realized that our house guests are no longer there, and that we are in the process of reclaiming our home.

We all, at the same time, feel the exact same thing… Ordinary Joy. My roommate tells my husband and I, “This is nice, I’ve missed this.” and I agree. This was a very joyful, serene and content moment for all of us. In that moment of reflection, I realize I have a new found respect for our roommate, even with all of his idiosyncrasies. I am happy our little family is as it is, including him. He’s really like a younger brother.

That brings another ordinary joy to mind: Chosen Family. I love the little family that I have created around me. I love the safety that feels within it.

One thought on “Joyful Noise

Leave a Reply

