Forgiveness · Friendship · Gratitude · Happiness · My Life · Self Esteem · Spirit

Broken Hearted

Since I have lacked inspiration this week to blog, I thought I would go to flikr.com and do the random photo option. I studied the photo, and these are my thoughts:

Broken Hearted

With what a deep devotedness of woe
I wept thy absence – o’er and o’er again
Thinking of thee, still thee, till thought grew pain,
And memory, like a drop that, night and day,
Falls cold and ceaseless, wore my heart away!
~Thomas Moore

This was an interesting challenge for me; take a photo, process it, and write about how or what it made you feel. My first immediate thought was, “Oh, a boy with a broken heart.” Upon closer look, I seen that his broken heart is on an Iphone.. and that pretty much summed it all up for me.

Klimt's - The Kiss

This is now the era we’re in. Classic paintings like Klimt’s “The Kiss” is no longer our romantic sentiments. Sonnets and poems written by greats like Shakespeare or Bryon, no longer are read through the eyes of a lover.. .. Iphone apps are.

It really disheartens me to see that we’ve become so detached from one another. That we are more comfortable behind the screen, rather than side by side. To woo a woman shouldn’t be done via ecards, emails or chat rooms. We are desensitizing ourselves towards a first kiss, a hand holding, or a spontaneous poem written to one another. We are also missing the responsibility in breaking up, and essentially hurting one another, by doing it face to face.

There is even a commercial that glorifies this:

Just as the photo prompt shows today, it breaks my heart to think that we no longer need books to read, face to face conversations, etc.

Today, I am thankful for the moments I spend with my family and friends; face to face.
Today, I am thankful for libraries, and their continual support for the avid BOOK reader.

Leave a Reply

