Beauty · Compassion · Forgiveness · Friendship · Gratitude · Happiness · Health · My Life · Self Esteem · Spirit

(¯..•._. • Let your light shine through •._. •..¯)

https://i1.wp.com/i138.photobucket.com/albums/q245/etherealhaven/SmokeySunbeams.jpg

You don’t have a soul. You are a Soul. You have a body. – C. S. Lewis

The core of every fruit is better than its rind. Regard the body as the rind,
and the human spirit the core. – RumiThere is a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in. – Leonard Cohen

(¯..•._. • Let your light shine through •._. •..¯)

We are a temple; our bodies are the outer brick and mortar. Just with any beautiful historical landmark, our bodies have the heart and soul inside. No matter how we look on the outside, what’s going to matter is the inside.

My mother used to say to me “I can’t find a church that has the light of God in It.” as a young child I never fully understood this sentiment. I assumed she couldn’t find a church she was comfortable in because of the people or the worship.Now, as an adult, I understand. We each feel the energy different than those around us. “God”, no matter which religion is in all of us and for her to be comfortable with the light of “God”, she must be comfortable with herself. Her light failed to shine brightly. She failed to accept that she is like an old brick and mortar foundation, cracks and all. The“light of God” wasn’t shining through in her.

The flip side of this is the most “spiritual” moment I had as a teenager was not in the pews of a church on a quaint Sunday morning. In fact, it was in downtown Seattle, mid afternoon, doing photography at Pike Place Market. I had a fascination with homeless people, and loved to take black and whites of them. There was this man, grungy, dirty, the poster child for people with the mentality of crossing the street just to walk around him. I, however, did not. I was drawn to him. He sat on the corner holding a simple sign that said, “Ask me about my forgiving God, I will tell you his story.” He wasn’t asking for money, he wasn’t asking for donations, he wasn’t pan handling. He just wanted to introduce you to his God, keep in mind not “THE God” taught about in church, but his God and his perception of it. I sat on the cement near him, and listened to him talk. I was mesmerized by the tale of his God. I took photos of him while he talked; trying to capture the light that glowed around him. For a man who had nothing, no home, no family, no money, he was the wealthiest and most serene individual I have yet to encounter in my life. He was beautiful, even with a long dirty beard, because his God was loving and forgiving; and in that realization, through all of his “cracks” in his exterior, God’s light shined through. His inner core was inviting, honest and humble.

Think about the contrast.

Does your light shine through?
Do you illuminate radiance and beauty no matter how your foundation sits?

Are you open to realizing your body is just a shell, and your core is what matters the most?

Forget about how your external looks, forget about your presentation, what matters is you, and you alone.

One thought on “(¯..•._. • Let your light shine through •._. •..¯)

Leave a Reply

