Beauty · Compassion · Forgiveness · Friendship · Gratitude · Happiness · Health · My Life · Self Esteem · Spirit

Love or Love Yourself First

“In real love you want the other person’s good. In romantic love you want the other person.” – Margaret Anderson

“I love you, not only for what you are, But for what I am when I am with you.” – Roy Croft

This is a blog I had written back in May 2009. So much has happened since then, that I thought I would repost it. It’s a HUGE reminder to myself. Now that my life is totally different, I have left my soon to be ex, and I have ventured into a  new forming life for myself, I really needed these words to remind me of my worth, my love for myself, and refocusing on making me a number one priority. I will be cross posting this entry on my other blog as well.

I see so many people in my life “Love” for the wrong reasons; security, sexual gratification, or the fear of being alone. A lot of people in our society seem to have lost the reason to love. This brings to mind another sacrifice – Love for yourself.

Constantly moving from one relationship to another we lose ourselves. We lose the ability to see a good healthy forming relationship; we lose the ability to love ourselves. Before venturing into another sexual relationship, thus confusing it with love, or relationships, have respect for yourself first. Learn to love all that you are, and try not to deceive those around you that you are “ok” and that you “do love yourself.” Those who do care enough about you can see through your inaccuracies.

You cannot give love, and find a wonderful relationship in someone, if you are not able to face yourself in the mirror and say unconditionally, “I love you.” You will have flaws, but are you strong enough to work on those flaws so that you can accept yourself truly for who you are? No relationship, no man or woman, is going to fix those problems for you.

When you are able to sit, quietly, by yourself without distraction, and feel comfortable without fear of loneliness, then and only then should you seek the love of another. If you cannot respect yourself enough not to jump from bed to bed, then you will never find the respect of a real “love”r.

What do you want out of life? Do you want to be loved for all you are?….Then learn to love yourself first. You want to be a priority in another’s life… make yourself a priority in your own life first.

Leave a Reply

