Abuse · Batterer · Beauty · Belief · Changes · Changing · Faith · Fear · Forgiveness · Gratitude · Happiness · Healing · Health · Hope · Journey · Love · My Life · Positivity · Romance · Self Acceptance · Self Esteem · Self Love · Spirit

Accept Love.

IMG_20140831_0821321-a-TWP-BOTTOM-post-divider-branch

Three very important things, somewhat cathartic incidents happened tomorrow. (I originally meant to write, “Two very important, somewhat cathartic, incidents happened yesterday.” But accidentally typed tomorrow. As if it was some kind of prophetic psychic slip. Ironically, three important things did happen “tomorrow” which was yesterday. So, I left it as I typed it.)

Three things summed up:
Accept Love.
Illusions.
The Dash.

I haven’t talked to my mother in years. I cut her out of my life, due to her negativity, two years ago. We have taken steps to reconnect again. This reacquainting comes with a lot of fear, worry and panic. We have done this dance before. We have worked through this very thing. We have discussed and forgiven. But the anger always comes up again. Always. I’m trying to work through the fear of unknown. The fear of anticipation that this is going to happen again. We talked about relationships, domestic violence, and love. After the end of our conversations, the phone had been disconnected, I was sitting on the porch processing actually holding a conversation with my mother. A text came through breaking my thoughts.
Accept Love.

Two words. Two powerful, impacting words. From my mother. The very one who fought the love process her whole life. The very one who set me up for failure in accepting love openly, unconditionally… accepting. To be honest, I’m still trying to process through this. I have no clue how to openly and earnestly accept love. If those two words did anything, they educated me on my inadequacies in this regard.

Illusions. The new love in my life has been reading a book to me whenever we have down time, prior to bed, etc. “Illusions” by Richard Bach. There were two quotes that kicked me in the stomach. I’m going to share in this moment is,
“If you argue for your limitations they are yours.”

My inability to put down my torch of anger, fear, panic, and worry… my “limitations” keep them leashed to me. I argue in defense, their defense, my defense. I argue. I defend their right to be apart of me. I was an abused child, unwanted and unloved. I grew into a lonely, depressed woman who has a hard time accepting love, internalizing it and allowing it to flow freely.

“There is no such thing as a problem without a gift for you in its hands. You seek problems because you need their gifts.”
This one, I’m still conflicted over. This one I’m still processing. But it has hit me, really hard.

Finally, “The Dash.” I watched a movie with my guy and his family. It’s called, “The Angriest Man in Brooklyn.” It was Robin Williams’ last movie. An angry man, embittered towards life. He finds out he has a very short time to live due to a brain aneurysm and proceeds to head out to correct his relationships. Quotes… that struck me

“Anger is the only thing they left me. Anger is my refuge, it’s my shield. Anger is my birthright!”

“It’s not the dates that matter, it’s the dash between them” In discussing dates on his tombstone, he says this.”

All of this compiled together, I am not the healthiest person mentally. I don’t know if I am too far gone to rectify and live the life “The Dash” implies. Happy. Unafraid. Genuine. Sincere. Happy. 

I’m afraid I’ll forever live a life where I’m sabotaging myself and my happiness. I am tired. This war with myself is exhausting. From my cellular level to my surface, I’m exhausted. I just don’t know how to put those torches down. I don’t know how to let go. Everyone says, “Let Go.” But no one, ever, tells me how to. 

How does this all play into my new relationship? I am not equipt with the ability to be present, fully for him in his time of needs. If he comes to me with a concern, a problem, something that has triggered him emotionally… I can’t let go of my pain to be fully present for him. This was brought to my attention last night. 

This will be our demise, I’m sure of it. My inability to love unconditionally, love fully, and accept love unconditionally. I’m a hostage to my problems. I am being held hostage by my perceived limitations, my inadequacies. I’m afraid I will never be the woman he needs, in his time of needs, because of my baggage and shit.

Leave a Reply

