. Writing . · Beauty · Belief · Blessings · Body Positive · Changes · Changing · Compassion · Forgiveness · Gratitude · Happiness · Healing · Hope · Hug · Journey · Love · My Life · Romance · Self Acceptance · Self Esteem · Self Love · Spirit

Knight with Dented Armor

I once laid next to him, dreamy, absentmindedly.
                     My knight with dented armor.
Our heads swam in thoughts, basked in afterglow.

I  pondered his flesh; his scarred dented armor.
He wore it proudly upon his chest; like medals of war.

Subconsciously I ran my fingers through his chest hair.
Natural, as if his hair were wiry extensions
of my own electrical pulse.
  I always found peace, serenity, … I found home.

My index finger finds the one scar and gravitates towards.
Soft raised patch of skin just above the heart.
Smooth and inviting, juxtaposed against his hair.
My finger gently rubbed circles, repeatedly. 

Clockwise, counterclockwise;
                      patterns equate safety in my mind.

I teased him once,
cupid’s arrow must have struck him there,
                    (in my head i was sure cupid lead him to me)
We laughed, kissed, slept. 

         I found shelter,  security, … I found home.

Only to awaken to my empty reality; hollow shell.
Alone in my own castle;
guarded by broken mortar, 
jagged, crumbling edges.
     Demons that swam hungrily within my mote.

Now I wonder,
if the scars were battles wounds,
etched permanently,
                 where my demons pierced his soul.

I once had found refuge, quietude, …
                            I once had found home.

r.bennett10.28.14

Leave a Reply

