Beauty · Belief · Blessings · Body Positive · Changes · Changing · Compassion · Counseling · Depression · Faith · Family · Forgiveness · Friends · Friendship · Gratitude · Happiness · Healing · Health · Hope · Journey · My Life · Positivity · Self Acceptance · Self Esteem · Self Love · Spirit · Suicide

Try.. do they like you…


Wait a second,
Why should you care, what they think of you
When you’re all alone, by yourself
Do you like you? Do you like you?

The question, “Do you like you” literally crippled me incapable to continue what I was doing when this song came onto iHeart. I had never heard it before, but damned if the Universe’s gift to me on Christmas was a soul penetrating song that forced me to stop in my tracks and tune in. I leaned against the counter (as I was doing dishes) and just listened. Unfortunately, I couldn’t rewind it. When I finished with the dishes, I headed to my laptop to pull up the video. Even more amazed at how beautiful this video is.
We’re dawning on a new year. This has to be the hardest holiday season ever for me. Before, I could numb myself to it, just live through whatever was surrounding me. But this year, I am necessitated into really looking at myself. I have made choices that has obligated me at looking into my life and why I have arrived here, at this moment. I have to stop trying, I do. I have to let go. I know that’s a running theme in my blog. I really need to stop going backwards. I need to look at now, right now. I had a friend send me a picture:

abecc0d10677e25e49bb6c06f4fc0847 (1)

Purpose. 2015 will be devoted to finding MY purpose. I have a reason why I’m here. I have to. No one person should, has to, is meant to go through all of this. 
I vow to myself to be present, mindful, of myself; me and only me. I don’t mean to come across as selfish, but I really need to repair everything, from my outer surface to my inner core.
I vow not to “change” anything about myself, but instead, learn to accept, adapt and incorporate every part of me I think is flawed. Every part I think people judge me on. Every part of me I apologize for, over and over again.
I vow to stop apologizing… for just existing. I wish I could see “me” as everyone else does.
I vow to forgive myself. This is going to be the biggest struggle for me. Forgiveness. I am so ready and willing to forgive everyone in my life, but myself. Why is that?
I vow to finally, fully, like who I am. To stop putting off the impression that I am “fine”, or that I am “strong”, or that I actually like myself. I know how to put that impression out there if I need to, when it’s appropriate. But, no more. Raw, real and me in all scenarios of my life. All walks. All persons. Me, take it or leave it… but do so with respect.
Because, you as well as everyone else, deserves the love and respect that you give to others.
2 thoughts on “Try.. do they like you…

  1. I love you! I will take you for you! Every broken piece! That is what makes you, you! We’re all broken. We are strong, we are beautiful, and we are smart! Those who mind, don’t matter & those who matter don’t mind!!!

  2. This is brave.
    When you’ve been through hell time and again, it only makes you strong in layers. Layers wrap and protect. They are necessary to survival at times.
    Peeling those back takes true, core strength. Exposing a soft underbelly. .. being vulnerable. .. It’s courageous and inspiring.

Leave a Reply

