Beauty, Compassion, Friendship, Gratitude, Happiness, Health, My Life, Self Esteem, Spirit

All I Want for Christmas..

One of the most glorious messes in the world is the mess created in the living room on Christmas day.  Don’t clean it up too quickly.  ~Andy Rooney

I could sit here and list off a whole slew of material things I want for the holidays, but, as I sit here reflecting, I realize that there are a number of other non material things I want more. Having lived minimalistically I have come to realize there were a number of things I take for granted…… a washer and dryer being one. I am sitting in a Shari’s writing this, best friend sitting across from me,  as we wait for our clothes to finish drying in the laundromat across the lot. I glance up at her, and realize, she is a huge motivator for this blog entry.

I want safety and security, not only for myself but for my friends and family who are also suffering during these hard times. There are a number of families and people out there who are one paycheck away from having nothing. A lot of struggles have hit my friends, my family and myself. Unemployment, lack of funds, homelessness, having to move home with mom…. I am there too. Unemployed, struggling to make my ends meet, and worry has taken up most of my thought process.  So my holiday wish number one is the warmth of a hearth and home, warmth of love from one another, warmth felt from security.

I want the feeling of genuine happiness and joy for my friends and family. I want at least one day where they can relax without the fear of tomorrow weighing on their shoulders. A day of peace, family and gratitude.

Leave a Reply

