Beauty, Compassion, Forgiveness, Friendship, Gratitude, Happiness, Health, My Life, Self Esteem, Spirit

Viva la Résistance


Rule of thumb: The more important a call or action is in your soul’s evolution, the more Resistance we will feel towards pursuing it. – “the WARofART” by Steven Pressfield

I am reading a book loaned to me by a friend. This book is called, “theWARofART: Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles” by Steven Pressfield. She handed it to me with the hopes it would strengthen my personal view on my writing, assist and push me into finishing my novel, and over coming all my negative talk about doing so. This book is a quick read, but damn if it isn’t filled with quick penned quotes that leave me deeply pondering; just as the one quoted beneath the photo above.

Viva la Resistance! My doubts are strong and abounding. These doubts do not reside in my creative writing abilities alone, it is in every aspect of my life. This one quote, however, brings me back to the days I was in counseling. There was something wise my counselor said to me, and at the time I had not recognized the weight in which is held.

“When you make a change in your life, you will be tested. Especially if the change is a big, life altering, decision. The Universe will test you, and poke you, and make you very uncomfortable. She will bring to light your insecurities, making you question yourself and your decisions. She will say to you, “Are you sure you don’t want to go back to your life the way it was before? You knew it then, you were comfortable then. Things weren’t so hard to manage.” It’s up to you and your strength to fight it. You know what is right for you, and what path you should be on. Don’t listen to the tests… they’re only tests.”

It wasn’t until now, roughly a year or so later, that I read the quote from theWARofART and realized exactly what she was saying to me in counseling. The Universe is…. Resistance. It is trying to get you to defy any evolution you are taking for your soul. Debating, and finally deciding, to leave my ex was one huge step for me. Constantly I was met with a barrage of Universal “signs” and “mishaps” that lead me to believe I was making the wrong decision. I was believing in the wrong thing, I needed to believe in myself.

Believing in myself is one of the hardest things for me to muster up and do. Believing in others who believed in me, even harder. Believing in a Universe, who pushed against me and placed resistance on me, unfathomable. But, here I am, six months later and living on my own. Here I am…. Surviving!

I need to learn to put those very thoughts into my creative side as well. I need to encourage myself, fight the resistance, and sit down to write. I need to pick up a pen, pencil, notebook, or clack away at my keys until something manifests itself; something from the very depths of my mind and soul. I can do this. I know I can do this. And, thanks to this book, I now know that other people believe that I can as well.

“The warrior and the artist live by the same code of necessity, which dictates that the battle must be fought anew every day.” – theWARofART.

How true. Each day is a new day, and a new battle.

3 thoughts on “Viva la Résistance”

  1. I don’t think the Universe is Resistance. *WE* are Resistance. We give in to these petty temptations, like Facebook, or walking the dog, or a thousand other things that don’t really need doing until after we do our work. The Universe conspires to help us, not hinder us, if we are doing what we need to do. The next book I would HIGHLY recommend after this one, to support my point, is “The Alchemist”, by Paulo Coelho.

Leave a Reply

